Nominations open for the Lifetime Achievement Award 2022

Monday, April 25, 2022 Dr. Geraldine Walsh

Until May 16, 2022, there is an open call for nominations for Canadian Blood Services Lifetime Achievement Award 2022. The award will be presented later in the year at Canadian Blood Services’ Honouring Canada’s Lifeline event, an annual event during which the organization honours individuals and groups for their outstanding achievements or dedication to Canada’s Lifeline.

Who can be nominated?

To be nominated for the Canadian Blood Services Lifetime Achievement Award, an individual must have contributed significantly to improving the safety and/or quality of blood, blood products, stem cells and/or cord blood or has made noteworthy improvements or advances in transfusion or transplantation medicine practice. Their record of publication should be of significance and their professional reputation should be aligned with the goals and reputation of Canadian Blood Services, reflecting a quality culture driven by excellence.

What's the nomination process?

Nomination requirements

  • Provide a short introduction and summary in 150 words or less of the nominee’s contribution to improving the safety and/or quality of blood, blood products or stem cells, or contribution to advances in transfusion medicine and practice.
  • Present a brief biography including academic, research, clinical and administrative positions, awards or recognitions.
  • Outline how the work of the nominee is set apart from the work of others in the field.
  • Provide a nominee’s full current curriculum vitae and contact information for the nominee including full name, mailing address, telephone number(s) and email address.
  • Provide name and contact information for the nominator(s).

Note: Candidates should be unaware that they have been nominated for this award.

Submit nominations in writing to the address below:


By mail:
Dr. Isra Levy,
Vice President, Medical Affairs and Innovation
Canadian Blood Services
1800 Alta Vista Drive
Ottawa, ON K1G 4J5

By email:

Submission deadline: May 16, 2022


Past honourees

The Canadian Blood Services Lifetime Achievement Award came into existence in 2002. Over the past two decades, the Canadian Blood Services Board of Directors has selected the following individuals for this prestigious award:

  • Dr. John Bowman and Ms. Marie Cutbush Crookston, 2002
  • Dr. Morris A. Blajchman, 2003
  • Dr. Peter Pinkerton, 2004
  • Dr. John Freedman, 2006
  • Dr. Hans Messner, 2007
  • Mr. Justice Horace Krever, 2008
  • Dr. Gail Rock, 2009
  • Dr. Victor Blanchette, 2010
  • Dr. Allen Eaves and Dr. Connie Eaves, 2011
  • Dr. Celso Bianco, 2012
  • Dr. John Dossetor, 2013
  • Dr. Gershon Growe, 2014
  • Dr. Bruce McManus, 2015
  • Dr. David Lillicrap, 2016
  • Dr. Nancy Heddle and Ms. Leah Hollins, 2017
  • Mr. André Picard, 2018
  • Dr. Harold Atkins and Dr. Donna Wall, 2019
  • Dr. Gilles Delage, Dr. Heather Hume, Dr. Mel Krajden, 2021


Canadian Blood Services – Driving world-class innovation

Through discovery, development and applied research, Canadian Blood Services drives world-class innovation in blood transfusion, cellular therapy and transplantation—bringing clarity and insight to an increasingly complex healthcare future. Our dedicated research team and extended network of partners engage in exploratory and applied research to create new knowledge, inform and enhance best practices, contribute to the development of new services and technologies, and build capacity through training and collaboration. Find out more about our research impact.

The opinions reflected in this post are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of Canadian Blood Services nor do they reflect the views of Health Canada or any other funding agency.


Related blog posts

Thursday, December 16, 2021
Dr. Geraldine Walsh

During November’s Honouring Canada’s Lifeline award ceremony, three distinguished Canadian researchers were recognized with Lifetime Achievement Awards. Each a world-leading expert with numerous outstanding achievements during their distinguished careers, Dr. Gilles Delage, Dr. Heather Hume and Dr. Mel Krajden are deserving awardees.

Thursday, September 26, 2019
Catherine Lewis

With a focus on improving the lives of patients living with autoimmune diseases, transplant physician and scientist Dr. Harold Atkins has dedicated his career to discovering innovative methods for stem cell transplantation. In the late 1990s, Dr. Atkins and neurologist Dr. Mark Freedman proposed a...

Friday, September 27, 2019
Catherine Lewis

With a medical career spanning almost 40 years, Dr. Donna Wall has made significant contributions to the evolution of blood and marrow transplantation across North America. After completing paediatric and paediatric hematology/oncology training in the U.S., Dr. Wall went on to establish blood and...