Lifetime Achievement Award 2024 Criteria

Friday, February 16, 2024 Cathy Jones


Recipients of the Canadian Blood Services Lifetime Achievement Awards are individuals whose landmark contributions are recognized as both extraordinary and world class in the field of transfusion and transplantation medicine, stem cell or cord blood research in Canada and/or abroad. 

To be nominated for the Canadian Blood Services Lifetime Achievement Award, an individual must have contributed significantly to improving the safety or quality of blood, blood products, stem cells and/or cord blood or has made noteworthy improvements or advances in transfusion or transplantation medicine practice. Their record of publication should be of significance and their professional reputation should be aligned with the goals and reputation of Canadian Blood Services, reflecting a quality culture driven by excellence. The award will be presented at a national event later this year (timing to be determined).  

Nomination requirements include:

  • A cover letter with a short introduction or summary (150 words or less) of the nominee’s contribution to improving the safety and/or quality of blood, blood products or stem cells, or contribution to advances in transfusion medicine and practice 
  • Present a brief biography of the nominee including academic, research, clinical and administrative positions, awards or recognitions 
  • Outline how the work of the nominee is set apart from the work of others in the field 
  • Provide a full curriculum vitae and contact information of the nominee including mailing address, telephone number(s) and email address 
  • Provide name and contact information of the nominator 

Note, candidates should be unaware that they have been nominated for this award. 

Nominations are to be submitted by Monday May 6, 2024 to: 

Dr. Isra Levy 
Vice-President, Medical Affairs and Innovation 
Canadian Blood Services 
1800 Alta Vista Drive 
Ottawa, ON K1G 4J5

The Canadian Blood Services Lifetime Achievement Award came into existence in 2002. To date the Canadian Blood Services Board of Directors has selected the following individuals for this prestigious award:

  • Dr. John Bowman and Ms. Marie Cutbush Crookston, 2002 
  • Dr. Morris A. Blajchman, 2003 
  • Dr. Peter Pinkerton, 2002 
  • Dr. John Freedman, 2006 
  • Dr. Hans Messner, 2007 
  • Mr. Justice Horace Krever, 2008 
  • Dr. Gail Rock, 2009 
  • Dr. Victor Blanchette, 2010 
  • Dr. Allan Eaves and Dr. Connie Eaves, 2011 
  • Dr. Celso Bianco, 2012 
  • Dr. John Dosseter, 2013 
  • Dr. Gershon Growe, 2014 
  • Dr. Bruce McManus, 2015 
  • Dr. David Lillicrap, 2016 
  • Dr. Nancy Heddle and Ms. Leah Hollins, 2017 
  • Mr. André Picard, 2018 
  • Dr. Harold Atkins and Dr. Donna Wall, 2019 
  • Dr. Gilles Delage, Dr. Heather Hume, Dr. Mel Krajden, 2021 
  • Dr. Shafique Keshavjee and Dr. Norman Kneteman, 2022 
  • Dr. Dana Devine, 2023 

Canadian Blood Services – Driving world-class innovation

Through discovery, development and applied research, Canadian Blood Services drives world-class innovation in blood transfusion, cellular therapy and transplantation—bringing clarity and insight to an increasingly complex healthcare future. Our dedicated research team and extended network of partners engage in exploratory and applied research to create new knowledge, inform and enhance best practices, contribute to the development of new services and technologies, and build capacity through training and collaboration. Find out more about our research impact.

The opinions reflected in this post are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of Canadian Blood Services nor do they reflect the views of Health Canada or any other funding agency.